Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2006 Firefighter of the Year

Engineer Tony Futch was recognized as 2006 Firefighter of the Year at the Templeton Firefighters’ Annual Recognition and Appreciation Dinner held Thursday, January 18th. The award is given to the firefighter whose performance, dedication and concern for the department throughout the year stood above the rest. The Firefighter of the Year is selected by their peers and confirmed by the Chief Officers.

Tony became a member of the Department in 2002, having completed the required training and attending fire department drills for over a year. Tony has furthered his training by attending Confined Space Operations, Scene Command and Rescue courses. Tony is currently enrolled in Cuesta College’s Paramedic program.

“Troy combines a maturity, a great attitude, and a tremendous dedication to the fire department,” said Fire Chief Greg O’Sullivan.

Other awards presented at the dinner included: One-year service plaques to Brandlyn Gosselin and Jolene Ybarra. Firefighter with most calls went to Steve Barckley, who responded to 325 of the Departments 473 emergency calls. Five firefighters were recognized for attending 100% of all training drills, they included Joe Franzone, Joshua Gibson, Faith Estrada, Scott Reynolds and Marcus Smith.

Assistant Chief Rod Hewitt was presented a plaque for his 30-years of service on the department. A short slide show provided an overview of Chief Hewitt’s career, followed by comments by County Supervisor Harry Ovitt, TCSD Board President Kevin Hunt and 25-year veteran Captain Mike Erb.