Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2001 Firefighter of the Year

Firefighter Tony Cappelluti was recognized as the 2001 Firefighter of the Year at the Templeton Firefighters’ Annual Recognition and Appreciation Dinner, held at McPhee’s Grill on January 26, 2002.  The award is given to the firefighter whose performance, dedication and concern for the department throughout the year stood above the rest.  The award is selected by peers and confirmed by the Department’s Chief Officers.

 Tony became a member of the Department in 1998, having completed the required training and attending fire department drills.  During 2001, Tony completed his Emergency Medical Treatment certification, as well as attending numerous pump operations classes.  Tony was appointed acting Fire Apparatus Operator earlier in the year to fill a slot vacated by a retiring firefighter.  In 2001, Tony responded to over 50% of the department’s medical and fire emergency calls.

 Tony is a “paid” firefighter, being employed by Diablo Canyon.  When not responding to emergencies, Tony finds time to help coach his daughter Julianne and son Joe in youth sports.  Upon receiving the award, Tony recognized his wife Maryanne, for supporting him throughout the last year.

 “Tony combines a great personality, a great attitude and a tremendous dedication to the fire department,” said Fire Chief Greg O’Sullivan. 

 Since its establishment in 1909 the Templeton Fire Department has relied on community volunteers to protect lives and property.  Members include:  Assistant Chief Rod Hewitt; Captains Mike Erb, Kurt Pennington, Tom Peterson; Firefighters Steve Barckley, Tony Cappelluti, Alex Feit, Joe Franzone, Tony Futch, Bill Gibson, James Gibson, Johnathan Gibson, Joseph Gibson, Jessica Gibson, Terry Hoage, Ken Rendon, Scott Reynolds, Jay Short, Frank Sprague, Tom Stead, Dave Tice, Rick Wimmer.