Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2009 Firefighter of the Year

Firefighter Faith Jewell was recognized as 2009 Firefighter of the Year at the Templeton Firefighters’ Annual Recognition and Appreciation Dinner held Thursday, January 21st. The award is given to the firefighter whose performance, dedication and concern for the department throughout the year stood above the rest. The Firefighter of the Year is selected by their peers and confirmed by the Chief Officers.

Faith became a member of the Department in 2004, having completed the required training and attending fire department drills for over a year. Faith has furthered her training by attending State certified wildland, vehicle extrication, confined space, emergency vehicle operations and rescue systems courses.

“Faith combines a maturity, a great attitude, and a tremendous dedication to the fire department,” said Fire Chief Greg O’Sullivan

Joe Franzone a 11-year veteran of the Department was presented with a retirement plaque. Other awards presented at the dinner included: Service awards; 5-year Faith Jewell, 10-year Engineer Tony Cappelluti, Firefighters Joe Franzone, and Joseph Gibson. Firefighter with most calls went to Tony Futch, who responded to 428 of the Departments 519 emergency calls. Marcus Smith was recognized for attending 100% of all training drills.